Bank Charges

Overdraft fee

Bank charges

I freaking hate banks. I wish we didn’t need bank accounts and just went back to dealing with cash for the rest of our lives. Yeah I know that sounds silly. I just need to rant a little.

I went to the bank a month ago to ask them to change the date of an automatic payment that goes off my checking account to my credit card. I used to get paid on the 24th but now I get paid on the last day of the month. I asked them to move the payment to the 1st of each month. When I took a look at my bank account now I saw that the payment went through and there is no money in my checking account. And if I don’t have money in my account, they charge me $170 each time it happens. That $170 is a big blow to my budget.

I know if I go to the bank and complain it won’t change a thing. That bank charge is going to stay there and they probably still won’t change the automatic payment to the 1st of each month. I can’t believe it. What a crappy way to start my weekend.

I also made a very long post and saved it to drafts. That entire post is just gone. I can’t find it. I’ll retype it later and post it again. I’m off to bed and staying there until I feel better for losing out on money.

Until next time.

2 comments

  1. Uh.. holy crap! Change banks! $170 is ridiculous for an overdraft fee!

    I would recommend going on a website like nerdwallet and finding an online bank that will let you to schedule everything yourself.

    It also may help if you would keep enough in your checking account to pay for your credit card at all times. I normally keep a paycheck’s worth in my checking account. I absolutely cannot stand bank charges, and don’t like playing their game.

    1. Thanks for the reply. I will take a look at the online bank account. Also I am trying to have some cash left in my checking at the end of the month. It’s still tough but I am working on it. Thanks for the advice.

Leave a Reply

