Throw Back Thursdays – Lifetime goals

As promised in my previous post, I am going to start a series of posts called Throw Back Thursdays (very original, I know) whereby I go through all my old goals I’ve set for myself in the past. With the help of these goals, I will try and set my goals for 2016. 

I decided to start with the big one. I set these goals round about the time I dropped out of college and was living at my parents place. I had no job, I was single and I wasn’t really sure where to go. I took an aptitude test to determine what I am actually good at and really sat down and thought, what do I really want to do. What will truly bring me joy? And this is what I came up with:

Lifetime Goals – By the time I reach 40 (2029)

Work from home – consultant in finances and information technology
A PhD in Information Technology
Always be on top of the technological developments
Master all relevant web and software development languages
Set-up my own place with the latest tech gadgets
Own a sports coupé
Have a passive income that covers all my day-to-day expenses

It’s 2016, I still have 13 years left to get there. I am currently in my second year of studies. I am slowly but surely getting to my goal of getting a PhD in Information Technology. I’ve learned four languages in the past year, namely Java, C#, CSS and HTML. I wouldn’t call myself a master in those but I feel comfortable enough with those languages. I got a new smartphone last year and a new laptop. I have no car and I am no where close to having a passive income to cover my day-to-day expenses.

So far it’s looking good. I am on course to complete these goals. I haven’t deviated from the plan. I can’t come up with better goals at this moment in time. Those goals look pretty solid. 

From these goals, I can come up with the following goals for 2016 to bring me closer to my life goals:

Pass my second year of studies
Master Java by writing a Java app for desktop or mobile
Read new tech articles every day by subscribing to tech articles, blogs etc.
Save up money to build a home theater PC
Get my drivers permit (I was never in a position to buy a car)
Pay off all short- and medium-term debt
Start a savings account that will later turn into an investment account

These goals aren’t final yet. Still 3 more articles to go before I finalize my goals for 2016. Things are really looking up for me. I have a feeling this is going to be a fantastic year for me and my family. 

Until next time. Thanks for reading

2 comments

Leave a Reply

