Throw Back Thursday – Habit List

Back again for another installment of Throw back Thursday, the goal setting edition.  Each Thursday for the month of January I will be sharing goals I’ve set for myself in the past couple of years.  I’m using these goals to help me set my goals for 2016.

My first  two posts were pretty easy but now I’m struggling to come up with good content for these last two weeks. Week one I shared my lifetime goals,  which are basically my goals I want to complete by the time I reach 40. These were closely related to my core values. 

Week two was about my reward list. You need to reward yourself to keep you motivated otherwise you will just forget about the goals and not bother at all. 

This week I’m sharing a habit list.  These are things I want to do on a daily.  Whether it be health habits, educational habits or just something I want to improve about myself. Not sure when exactly I made this list,  but I think I was still single and living  on my own when I compiled it.  Here it is:

Habit List
Weekdays 

Wake up early (5:30AM)
Jog/Exercise
Have breakfast
Update myself on the latest news on tech and sport
Use the Pomodoro method at work
Eat healthy snacks 
Pack lunch
Read something on software development

Weekends

Spend time with family and friends
Clean my place
Weekly Review

These are pretty good habits to have and it looks pretty much complete.  I could add a couple of good habits to this list but I don’t want to add too much in fear of overwhelming myself and later getting  upset for not living up to the standards I set. 

I’ve tried the Pomodoro method at work a couple of Tim mess but there are way too many distractions at work to make it work.  I very demotivated to easily when I don’t finish all the things I set out to do for the day and  I see the list growing add more and more people call and ask me to do something.  I will still it a go but I have my doubts. 

Waking up that early might also be a problem.  Right now I get up at 6:30 AM.  It gives me enough time to get dressed and ready for work.  My wife (sometimes me) packs us breakfast and lunch so that is almost a habit. 

Exercising and eating healthy are the toughest habits to accomplish but I’ve also been trying since I’m trying to lose some weight this year.  I’ll maybe start giving updates on my weight loss mission.  Right now I don’t see any results which makes it harder to share with the rest of the world what a failure I am. 

I should probably add drinking at least 2 liters of water a day and minimise my coffee and tea in take to 1 cup a day.  I find this incredibly difficult to quit got beverages.  It’s even harder when you’ve only slept 4-5 hours the previous night and feel like a zombie, but I have to do something. 

I need to add school related habits to that list  like review my notes after each lecture  or at least make notes after each lecture shop that I am well prepared.  I will be writing  a back to school post soon. Lectures start on the 6th of February.  Looking forward to that one. 

Well,  there you have it,  my habit list. I’m not sure what I’ll share next week. It should be a surprise to us all. 

Until next time. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

